eBay’s Image Is In the Eye of the Beholder

Posted on July 8, 2008. Filed under: eBay | Tags: , , , |

I was reading a blog today where the person posting expressed his opinion that eBay’s image problem is a direct result of eBay sellers speaking out against eBay.  The person posting made the analogy that if a grocery store clerk made disparaging remarks about the grocery store then he would certainly shop elsewhere.  He went on to say that eBay sellers are causing buyers to go away, with all their negativity about eBay, and that sellers shouldn’t place that blame on eBay for the lack of sales since they are the ones causing the buyers to go away (I am summarizing what he said in my own words).  Finally the person posting states that eBay buyers consider eBay and the sellers to be “the same thing” and that smart sellers are aware of that fact.

 

Regarding his comment about grocery store clerks in a grocery store, I think his analogy is not relevant.  A clerk in the grocery store is an EMPLOYEE who is paid a wage.  His / her salary is known and it doesn’t vary depending on how many customers come in the store or how much they spend or if they decide to do chargebacks later, after taking their groceries home and eating them.
 
A better analogy might be that if I went in a mall and noticed there was graffiti everywhere and half the lightbulbs were out in the hallway then when I went into a particular store and the owner was bemoaning how the mall owner was not taking care of maintenance issues then I would understand the store owner’s frustration. 
 
And then when he/she complained that the mall owner was raising rates and not kicking out the store owners next door who were selling drugs and also that the mall owner promised a burglar alarm system to prevent theft (that was increasing because of the drug activity next door) but didn’t pay to have the alarm turned on, then I would have a much better appreciation of why the store owner was telling me that he / she was making plans to move his store to a better retail location.  I wouldn’t stop visiting that store in that particular mall location because the owner was complaining about his / her conditions but rather I would stop visiting the mall altogether because of the actions (inactions) of the mall owners.
 
I consider myself to be a “smart” seller and I guarantee you that my buyers realize and recognize they are buying from ME and not from eBay.  I am not the same thing as eBay, nobody (including buyers) thinks that I am, and I certainly don’t want my business to be synonymous to eBay and their business practices.  Now, the buyers on Amazon and their perceptions… that is a different story.
 
 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “eBay’s Image Is In the Eye of the Beholder”

RSS Feed for TheBrewsNews Comments RSS Feed

I think a lot of buyers do, but I also think that it is easy to disassociate on eBay because it is online so I think it is common for people to say on bought it on eBay- rather than I bought it from so and so on eBay. Of course they no where to find you and that is where they will be heading but they might say they’re shopping on eBay.

However, where this guy feels we should all be shaking our pom poms for eBay, because it is in “our best interest” and we are only causing the sales to fall. I feel eBay should be shaking their pom poms for me and you and every other paying customer.

Also- and I am not sure if he realizes this but the implied goal is to bring eBay down through monetary loss for many many people so I’m not sure who he is speaking to exactly.

Beyond that I am finding an increasing number of “pro eBay” puppets out and about and I can’t help but think they are paid employees. On the discussion boards yes some sellers are fine or coping or attempting to convince themselves that eBay is not as evil as they clearly are. Out on the public boards supposed eBay buyers (only) participating in this muck- well I just don’t believe it.

[…] – bookmarked by 6 members originally found by jasonpharaoh on 2008-12-02 eBay’s Image Is In the Eye of the Beholder https://thebrewsnews.wordpress.com/2008/07/08/ebays-image-is-in-the-eye-of-the-beholder/ – […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The BrewsNews information blog about online sales, eBay, Amazon, Bonanzle and oh so much more!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Most Recent Comment

  • Calendar of Posts

    July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Topics

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

