Why Can’t I Be Happy with Good Ebay Sales?

Posted on July 8, 2008. Filed under: eBay | Tags: , , , , , |

Yesterday, we were standing around waiting for the postal truck to stop and pick up our mail bags and carts full of packages.  Our postal guy is great, always on time with just 5 minutes either way.  Always.  We know that after a holiday weekend that he most often will be 5 minutes late but we are ready on time anyway.  So we had 5 minutes to chat.  Of course, the topic of conversation always turns to eBay and we can’t help but discuss all the negatives because there are just so many.  I would not classify myself as a pessimist but more of a realist and when 95% of my eBay experience is negative then it is realistic to expect that most of what I talk about concerning eBay would be problems or bad experiences.

I first mentionned how our eBay auctions ended and some ended without bids but one auction ended at a price that was twice the manufacturer’s suggested retail price.  Everyone immediately empathizes with me because they know what I know – the chance that the buyer is going to pay is slim.  Then I elaborate further and tell everyone that the high bidder, a member of the eBay community for 5 years, has not made an eBay purchase in 12 months and his eBay ID name is ” GrumpyBob ” (note that I have changed the name just slightly to protect privacy but the Grumpy part of the ID is exact).  Now everyone is really feeling sorry for me and is trying to help with suggestions.  One person suggests that I consider offering the item to the next high bidder since it is an item that I have multiples in inventory.  I respond that I thought of that, too, but the second highest bidder is “trigger happy” meaning that it is their hobby to leave unfavorable feedback for eBay sellers.  I receive nods of understanding from those around me.

Next I mention a customer who is registered in Italy and what they bought from me.  “Ms. Italy” placed a $100 order from my eBay store.   Everyone in the room groans.  We all know that it is likely that Ms. Italy will not want to pay the shipping charges listed in the auction and will claim she doesn’t understand English and didn’t know it was going to be so expensive to ship.  Shipping to Italy is risky and for many orders we require express mail shipping which doesn’t make Italian buyers very happy.

At this point in the conversation I stopped and reflected a moment on what I had been saying and I started laughing out loud.  I made a comment that it sure sounded like I was unhappy about receiving sales.  And I realized that my attitude was negative; I was indeed unhappy that I had received these eBay orders.  I was frustrated and unhappy because in my mind they were not REALLY sales but rather nuisances.  Based on my many years of eBay experience, I knew that these “orders” were likely to be “unpaid eBay reservations” and that I was going to lose time and money communicating with these “buyers” and having to file Unpaid Item Disputes to receive a portion of my fees back and the inventory might stay unlisted for weeks while I proceeded through eBay’s dispute process.  I had already assumed a negative stance.  My negativity was based not only on the bad experiences I have had with eBay buyers but I realized something else – I was viewing my eBay customers with negativity because eBay is a negative place for eBay sellers. 

Every day I log into my various eBay selling accounts, I am faced with nothing but negativity.  For example, on one account I have over 500 positives in the last 30 days and my DSR for “Item Described” is a 5.0 (yes 5.0 for more than 500 transactions) and 4.9 for “Communication” but my DSR for “Shipping Cost” fluctuates between 4.6 and 4.7.  So when I view my Seller Dashboard for Search Standing I am often rated as “Standard” and I see a big red X and red bar line telling me that I am failing to make the “Raised” level in the Search Standing.  And when I look at the Powerseller Discount portion of the Seller Dashboard I again see a big red X and red bar line telling me that I am failing to receive the 15% discount.  It seems that everywhere I look on eBay I am told that I am a failure.  I am receiving negative reincorcement daily from eBay in so many ways.  Even though I have been an eBay seller for 10+ years, have close to a 50% rate of repeat customers, have 99.6% or above on all selling items, and have DSRs no less than 4.6, I am being told by eBay every day that I am failing to make the grade in one way or another. 

This particular eBay story has a happy ending (for once!).  I woke up this morning and found that BOTH GrumpyBob and Ms. Italy paid for their items and they both paid within minutes of each other.  And, on that good note, I promptly logged in to each of my eBay seller IDs and I rearranged MY EBAY page so that the Seller Dashboard metrics no longer appear automatically.  If I want to view them I have to click on a link to take me to my Seller Dashboard.  That way, I can avoid eBay’s negative view of me.  If I want eBay’s opinion of me (telling me constantly that I am a failure) then I will make the effort to go look at my Seller Dashboard.  Until then, I will opt out.  Now I think it would be a good use of my time to spend a few minutes reading over the kudos and great positive feedback comments my buyers left for me today.  My customers give me wonderful positive reinforcement.  They see my glass half full whereas eBay sees my glass half empty.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Why Can’t I Be Happy with Good Ebay Sales?”

RSS Feed for TheBrewsNews Comments RSS Feed

yes this is a problem for me as well. Really there is a problem when you dread the selling of an item. I use to be so excited when I would receive my your ebay item sold. Now – “crap who bought it and what am I going to have to deal with”. This isn’t a good feeling and certainly not a healthy business attitude.

Because I don’t sell massive amounts – I typically – well anymore about 115 feed backs a month. So I can literally watch my DSR scores change as soon as someone leaves feedback. I am a fanatic about that damn board I check it several times (like 30) a day so I know what I have all the time. as soon as someone leaves feedback I immediately clicked to my dashboard to check my DSRs. I found myself blocking customers who had the audacity to leave me 4 stars on anything.

I am blocking paying customers, who left glowing feedback, but gave me a damn 4. If that doesn’t say the system is screwed up I don’t know what else could.

i have been selling on ebay from day one i made alot of money FOR A FEW YEARS BUT IT GOT HARDER AND HARDER EVERY YEAR EBAY GOT MORE THEN THE NEXT YEAR THEY GOT A LTTLE MORE AND ALITTLE MORE THEN PAYPAL CAME OUT THEY GOT A LITTLE MORE,
if you are a seller on ebay start thinking about a job ,
its all over with ebay maybe another year
you can no longer make a GOOD liveing on ebay
its just another ave to sell, thats all ,amazon is ok but sales are not that good but steady another ave,
i have 2 websites i do as well on the sites as i do about the same as ebay when you add it up i do ok
but just to count on ebay for income them days are ending very very soon , GO TO YOUR BANK TELL THEM YOU HAVE AN EBAY ACCOUNT AND ARE A POWER SELLER AND HAVE GOOD FEEDBACK ASK FOR A LOAD BASED ON YOU R EBAY THEY WILL THROW YOU OUT OF THE BANK EBAY IS NOT WORTH ANYTHING LETS THINK ABOUT , YOU CANT COUNT ON EBAY FROM DAY TO DAY WHAT THEY DONT UNEXCEBALE THEY MADE IT SO YOU CANT SELL EVERYTHING IS FOR THE BUYER THATS ALL GREAT AND DAND BUT IT DOES NOT WORK NO SELLERS NO EBAY, HOW IT WORKS, YOU NEED TO START WITH A SELLER THEN THE BUYER ANYONE COULD TELL YOU THIS , EBAY HAS A BUNCH OF CLOWNS DONT DONT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT WHAT IS GOING ON AROUND THEM ,THEY ARE IN LA LA LAND MOST OF THEM DONT KNOW THEY WONT HAVE A JOB SOON


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The BrewsNews information blog about online sales, eBay, Amazon, Bonanzle and oh so much more!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Most Recent Comment

  • Calendar of Posts

    July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Topics

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

