The New eBay Fee Structure For Sellers is On the Horizon

Posted on August 16, 2008. Filed under: eBay | Tags: , , |

.

Almost 3 months ago, on May 20th, I made the prediction that eBay.com is preparing to change their fee structure to a more “Amazon-like” fee structure:

 
eBay has been experimenting with a new fee structure (the Buy.com partnership) and soon I expect they will offer a “good deal” to Powersellers who want to feast at the all-you-can list eBay buffet.  I would look for eBay to offer Powersellers the ability to list in huge proportions for one monthly fee or a monthly fee plus nominal insertion fee.  The deal will likely be offered only to Powersellers who have a certain feedback rating and DSR level which would indicate that they provide good customer service.
 
You can read my original article  HERE
 
The formal announcement about a change in the fee structure may be coming soon.  A Powerseller Rep I spoke with recently told me that there is a meeting next week where eBay will be informing customer service reps about some new announcements.  I was told to watch the eBay announcement boards in the next week or two.  I don’t know what will be formally announced in the next few weeks but some people are speculating the news will involve a dramatic change in the fee structure. 
 
See Ina Steiner’s Auctionbytes Article    Donahoe’s Big Gamble: Free Listings on eBay?
 
While Amazon can offer their sellers a great deal, list all you want for $39.99 a month, they keep the offerings on Amazon relevant by limiting the number of sellers in any category and the monitor the quality of their sellers.  If eBay implements a free or low cost listing fee structure, they will have to find some way to limit the number of sellers who take advantage of the offer or else the eBay.com site will be overrun with poor quality listings.  I believe eBay  has a plan to limit the number of listings and will do so either by making the per monthly fee significant, like $299.99 a month, and/or by limiting the offer to Powersellers with a proven track record.  It will be interesting to find out what eBay has in mind.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “The New eBay Fee Structure For Sellers is On the Horizon”

RSS Feed for TheBrewsNews Comments RSS Feed

> find some way to limit the number of sellers who take
> advantage of the offer or else the eBay.com site will be
> overrun with poor quality listings.

Yes, I’m sure eBay is considering their strategy heavily right now. The de-duping (1 item only) and Best Match should reduce the visibility of poor quality listing. That’s the idea anyway.

Interesting ideas you’ve posted. When you think eBay will make their changes official and public?

$299 a month would be steep enough for most small sellers not to overrun the site with everything in their closet and garage. My fees per month run a little over $300 so I’d be okay with that.

That site was built on small sellers who sold everything from their closets and garages. Its in trouble now because they are driving out these small sellers. Buyers can get new dropshipped junk anywhere – even at Walmart – except Walmart guarrantees it – ebay does not! 😉

Watch for a lowering of front side costs, along with back end costs increasing again. Just like they did in January. You won’t win anything fee wise, you’ll still pay more.

And of course, once again “only the powersellers”.

Well, my listing fees don’t come any where close to 300 dollars so they can leave this powerseller out of their little scam

I think free listing for anyone is really bad news for eBay – the site will be to cluttered with stuff- I don’t care what kind of stuff it’ll be to much damn stuff. It will be overwhelming and the buyer will click out through a ppc ad. I have had a couple people tell me they thought I carried to much product in my store when at the time I only had like 600 listings and my store is very easy to navigate. If even only powersellers started releasing all of their inventory in some of the categories I list in – what is typically 200 to 400 – would be 800 to 1200 best case scenario. Mac would go from your average 4500 to freaking 10,000

There is just to much damn stuff on eBay. I don’t want free listings and I don’t want my store in search. I would prefer they raise the insertion fees and lowered FVF

if they did go free (up front listing fees) it would be for top level of powersellers I’m sure


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The BrewsNews information blog about online sales, eBay, Amazon, Bonanzle and oh so much more!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Most Recent Comment

  • Calendar of Posts

    August 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Topics

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

