Obama’s Remark Could Also Have Been about eBay, a Company Who Just Doesn’t Get It

Posted on August 29, 2008. Filed under: eBay | Tags: , |

.

Last night I watched as Barrack Obama accepted the Democratic nomination.  Obama said many things but one of the things he said really struck a chord with me.  The following is from the Associated Press:  

Obama said McCain was out of touch with ordinary Americans.

“Now, I don’t believe that Sen. McCain doesn’t care what’s going on in the lives of Americans. I just think he doesn’t know,” Obama said. “It’s not because John McCain doesn’t care. It’s because John McCain doesn’t get it.”    

Now, as you would expect, I am going to relate this topic in some way to eBay.   I am going to make the same comment about eBay executives and other eBay decision-makers that Obama made about McCain.  

eBay sellers say that the eBay executives are out of touch with their community members.  eBay wants us to believe that they care about the sellers and that they really do know sellers must do well in order for eBay to do well.  But sellers say that the eBay executives just don’t get it.  

I am definitely one of those sellers who is convinced that eBay just doesn’t get it.  I will admit there is a possibility that eBay really does care.  But even if they do care, they really truly don’t get it.  I am pretty outspoken in my belief that eBay is making some very poor decisions.  I have made some strong arguments about what I think they are doing wrong and why and I also write about some of the eBay problems that I personally experience as an eBay seller.   

While eBay executives are probably already out of the office and enjoying the holiday weekend, eBay sellers will still be toiling away throughout the weekend.  Labor Day Weekend is just another weekend of work for most people who make their living selling on eBay.  

Speaking of work, I have often been asked by the people who work with me what I would do if I were in charge of making decisions at eBay.  What changes would I make is what they want to know.  Well, I am going to tell you.  Coming soon, I am going to state for the record what I personally would do to change eBay, from the perspective of someone who does actually get it.  Until then, I hope you enjoy some of my other blog posts coming throughout the Labor Day weekend. 

.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Obama’s Remark Could Also Have Been about eBay, a Company Who Just Doesn’t Get It”

RSS Feed for TheBrewsNews Comments RSS Feed

I turned and said the exact same thing at the exact same time to my husband who replied:

‘ I’ve been quiet for over a year about all this eBay stuff. At some point Kimbers, you’ve got to realize that all this longing for perceived better past days and determination for eBay to see the light is holding you back from your own success and creating your own future.”

and I thought he wasn’t listening.

Great blog, Brews. And great comment, Kimbers. It made me realize the only power Ebay has over me is the power I give them. Change is in the air-for me!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The BrewsNews information blog about online sales, eBay, Amazon, Bonanzle and oh so much more!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Most Recent Comment

  • Calendar of Posts

    August 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Topics

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

