eBay is Truly Unbelievable and Has Left Me Speechless

Posted on September 9, 2008. Filed under: eBay | Tags: , , , , |

.


Today I learned that I am one of the lucky 20% who gets to experience the MyeBay new and improved Beta version called MyeBay Preview.   I have absolutely no way to opt out of the “test”.  According to eBay Powerseller Reps, I have two choices – either suffer (in silence) through the Preview version, with degraded service and bugs and glitches, while paying the same full price for my eBay Store and Selling Manager Pro as everyone else who is not forced into the test group or I can do eBay’s job for them and send them a list of problems and a list of suggestions on what I would like to see so that the service can be improved for the entire eBay community. 

Hmmm… given that I have Master’s Level training in Information Systems, among other things, and I bill my services at $95 an hour for specific technical support and management consulting services, I think eBay would be getting a bargain if I were to send them a report FOR FREE which is what they are asking me to do. 

So, now, not only is eBay asking me to pay them more next week (when the new fees go into effect) for the “privilege” of selling on their site, while receiving reduced functionality than 80% of the other sellers who pay the same amount I do, but eBay is asking me to do their job for them FOR FREE. 

I have only one word that comes to mind right now (that I can put down in writing that I wouldn’t be embarrassed if my kids read this blog) and that word is UNBELIEVABLE.  eBay is truly UNBELIEVABLE and I am left speechless today.

.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “eBay is Truly Unbelievable and Has Left Me Speechless”

RSS Feed for TheBrewsNews Comments RSS Feed

[…] This blog entry is a follow-up to my earlier post titled eBay is Truly Unbelievable and Has Left me Speechless […]

I got the test version earlier this week, but was able to opt out. I sent them a page full of feedback on the experience… which promptly bounced back to me. Not sure how to get them the info they want (and really, really need).

I found the new layout… not bad. I kind of like the tabs. They make it faster to see some of the information. But they need to make the summary page it more liquid so it expands with the browser window and fills it, like it does now, to minimize scroll-down. They also need to add more customization options for the individual modules, for example, let us have gallery images on the selling and sold items sections as well as the buying and bought. Makes it far quicker to pull the right items for shipping when you don’t have to open each listing to see which item it was (many often have the same or similar titles, but are different items).

I agree that they need to add more of the existing functionality before I’d want to use it. It stinks that they’re forcing people into it for the 4th quarter busy season. Why can’t they wait until January for something like this?

Other companies 1)ask you if you would like to participate and 2)give you a little something for your time and trouble. The absolute very least they could do would be to waive all fees for people caught in this thing for the duration.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The BrewsNews information blog about online sales, eBay, Amazon, Bonanzle and oh so much more!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Most Recent Comment

  • Calendar of Posts

    September 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Topics

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

