My Pleasant Surprise from eBay Today

Posted on October 10, 2008. Filed under: eBay | Tags: , , , |

.
Imagine my surprise this afternoon when I received an email informing me that a negative feedback had been removed on my eBay account.  

Awhile back, an international buyer purchased an item from me and paid the incorrect shipping amount.  I communicated with the buyer to let him know that he paid the wrong amount and I offered him three alternatives.  The buyer responded in perfect English that he wanted me to ship the item for the price he paid, not what was stated in the auction listing.  I then refunded the PayPal payment and let the buyer know that I could not possibly ship for the reduced amount.  The buyer then left me negative feedback and immediately emailed me to tell me that he would remove the negative feedback (though not possible) if I would ship him the item at the reduced shipping cost.  At that point in time, I filed an Unpaid Item Dispute (since I no longer had any of the buyer’s money) and held my breath in hopes that the buyer would not respond and that the negative feedback would automatically be removed.

Unfortunately for me, the buyer did respond but he responded in a foreign language, not one word in English.  Initially I was baffled since the buyer had communicated so well with me in English.  It was obvious to me that the buyer could speak English well and that his emails were not translated via an online free translator.  Then I realized that the buyer had responded to the UPI in a foreign language so that it would appear he could not read English and did not understand my auction listing.

I closed the UPI dispute and then filed for a review of the negative feedback as I felt it should have been removed.  Within about 2 hours I received a response from an eBay customer service representative telling me that the feedback did not qualify for removal.  I responded back to that email and pointed out again that the buyer had not expressed dissatisfaction in the UPI process because he had not written anything in English, not to mention that he intentionally paid less than the amount stated in the listing.  Trust & Safety then responded the following day and told me for a second time that the negative feedback did not qualify for removal.

In one final attempt to have the situation corrected, I emailed Griff at eBay and then I tried to put the matter behind me but it was a little difficult to do.  The buyer continued to email me directly to insist that I sell him the item and ship at a lower cost.  He taunted me and was incredibly rude.  I politely informed him that the transaction was over – I had none of his money – and that since he had already left feedback that there was nothing more to discuss.  He continued to email me repeatedly.  Ignoring him did not work initially but finally, after a few weeks of getting no response from me, the international buyer stopped communicating with me.  And, that, I assumed was the end.  I hadn’t heard back from Griff and I fully expected the Trust & Safety email to be the final decision in the matter.

So, imagine my surprise today when the email I received informed me that Griff had forwarded my email within eBay to the proper person and that after a thorough review it was determined that the negative feedback should be removed.

Now, it is not that the negative feedback was ruining my “reputation”.  I really do not think the negative feedback prevented anyone from buying from me.  And it certainly did not cause me to fold up my business and walk away simply because the rules were not fair and / or that I was treated unfairly.  But receiving an undeserved negative feedback from a nonpaying bidder is bad for seller morale; it was bad for my morale. 

For the record, I am pleased that the negative feedback was removed.  I was so pleasantly surprised because I had already resigned myself to the fact that the negative was there to stay.  

.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “My Pleasant Surprise from eBay Today”

RSS Feed for TheBrewsNews Comments RSS Feed

I think your little surprise is a nice side-effect of the success of your blog.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The BrewsNews information blog about online sales, eBay, Amazon, Bonanzle and oh so much more!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Most Recent Comment

  • Calendar of Posts

    October 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Topics

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

