eBay Says Feature is Temporarily Unavailable – Perfect Description for the Entire Site

Posted on October 30, 2008. Filed under: eBay | Tags: , , , , |

When attempting to relist an item today, I received the following error in the final step as I hit the Submit button: This feature is temporarily unavailable.  Your selections have caused errors.  Please click Continue below to go back and correct your errors.

Of course, clicking continue takes me nowhere except right back to eBay’s main SYI (Sell Your Item) page.

 

 

Now, often times I receive an error message similiar to the one above (slightly different but still close) and yet the item does actually get relisted despite what the error message says so naturally I am forced to check each and every time to see if the item was actually relisted.  But, today, eBay REALLY REALLY meant it — there was an error and my item was in fact NOT relisted.  I waited about 15 minutes and tried again, and Presto! there was success the second time.

If eBay wonders why sellers are not thrilled and excited about the new wonderful things they are proposing (like the new iPhone app or the In Demand feature available to a select few), it is because sellers are just struggling every day to navigate through the eBay platform which is so full of errors, bugs, and glitches that it is a challenge just to function at the most basic level.  Most sellers I know want the programmers to forget about the bells and whistles and instead focus on the core challenge of making the site function at even a basic level.

.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “eBay Says Feature is Temporarily Unavailable – Perfect Description for the Entire Site”

RSS Feed for TheBrewsNews Comments RSS Feed

In my “prior life” I managed an IT dept for a retailer. I allowed no software changes during the Holiday season (Oct-Dec). I have always been amazed that eBay doesn’t “lock down” their system (Oct-Dec) and save their changes and tweaks until Jan (unless a major issue come up). I dread the Thu evening maintenance for the rest of the year.

It looks like the strategy is to write off this Christmas and get everything rolled out so that they can start 2009 right. The site should be relabeled Beta

I love when you bulk relist through Selling Manager, get the error message that 6 or 7 items failed to relist properly, then discover upon further investigation that while those 6 or 7 items did indeed list, a completely different half dozen or so which were confirmed actually did not list. Fun.

What I love about this message is “Your selections have caused errors.” See where eBay pins the blame? No surprises there, I guess.

This glitch has been going on for at least the pastv 12 months

I got this one today too, and I did the same thing went to look to see if it did. I didn’t see it but I decided to wait until I was finished with my other revisions to give the system time. Hopefully, the hour plus was long enough.

That other glitch – the one so familiar- the one that gives us pause- may as well be considered an eBay feature – it has been happening for like 16 months.

What ebay really needs to do on the development side is break up their teams. have the really smart people working on the core while the normal/average people work on the front end.

eBay by far has the best selling tools but they are getting more and more buggy and that is causing to many problems for its sellers and buyers.

I agree who the guy who said that they should not make changes in peak season UNLESS their is a major issue which leaves them with no choice.

I want ebay to do good but the transformation is just to big, and life changing for to many in a very short period of time.

Since eBay finally implemented their Online Payment only strategy and not that long ago implemented S&H caps in certain categories, are you SURE that neither of those two issues are causing your error message???
PS: I always list through Auctiva and that listing process seems to work a LOT more of the time than eBay’s!!! 😦

Ken, I don’t list items in any categories where there are S&H caps and I haven’t accepted check/m.o. in a few years so I would have nothing not in sync with the Paperless Payments Policy.

HAPPENED to me today lol


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The BrewsNews information blog about online sales, eBay, Amazon, Bonanzle and oh so much more!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Most Recent Comment

  • Calendar of Posts

    October 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Topics

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

