Bonanzle: Who is Otto?

Posted on April 8, 2009. Filed under: Other, Uncategorized |

Last week I received a phone call from a fellow eBay seller (who is trying hard to move away from the eBay platform) who excitedly told me about her first sale on Bonanzle.  She was thrilled but very surprised since she only has about 4 items listed on Bonanzle.  It was great news and I was really happy for her. 

My plans have always been to focus on Bonanzle this summer as right now I only have about half a dozen items listed on the Bonanzle platform.  I initially listed a few items to test out the system and haven’t put forth any serious effort yet.  However, this morning I awoke to the following email alerting me to a $100+ sale:

Hey (My name),

User (User name) bought 1 item(s) from you with “Buy Now” for $XXX.XX. Visit Bonanzle to see the full checkout details under your “Items Sold” link.

Visit the My Bonanzle page to get all the details.

From, Otto

And I received a corresponding PayPal email letting me know that the buyer has paid for the item purchased on Bonanzle.  So now I get to learn the Bonanzle system today to see if I can notify the buyer the item has shipped and I also get to figure out how to (gladly) pay my Bonanzle fees for the sale.  You know I’m a  happy camper today.

I just have one very important question…..

Who is Otto?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “Bonanzle: Who is Otto?”

RSS Feed for TheBrewsNews Comments RSS Feed

I think Otto is the automated system (auto).

Thanks Mitzi!

Otto is indeed Bonanzle’s automated emailer. As with most Bonanzlers I too adore getting those lovely emails from “Otto”.

Phaedra

WooHoo – Another Bonanzle Sale We’re on a Roll 🙂

This is very interesting…thanks for sharing.

‘Otto’ is your friend, he is the OttoMatic Notification System.

Billing: In your My Bonanzle page click on the link to Fees Owed in the top box ‘My Account’ in the left hand navigation bar. You will get a nice page with all your information, including a link to request a reversal if a sale goes bad for any reason.

Because of the processing costs I believe that the Boyz prefer you wait to pay until you are billed on that page.

Congratulations on your sale, Bonanzle really is a nice place to do business, they appreciate their sellers.

Thanks for the information Henrietta. I am super excited about the sale – paid almost $10 less in selling fees than I would have if the item had sold on eBay. Gotta love that!

The difference in fees is incredible – truly astonishing.

I worked this out on April 7th – I’ve sold more since, but haven’t updated yet.

This is based on my eBay experience

Items sold in 61 transactions
89 total items

Total Gross Sales to Date
Dec. $95.00
Jan. $231.50
Feb. $353.00
March. $618.70
April to date 7th. $77.00
Total $1375.20

Total fess to date on Bonanzle
Dec. $6.00
Jan. $9.00
Feb. $17.00
Mar. $27.00
April to date 7th $3.00
Total fees – $56.00

Fees I would have paid if these sales were on eBay

Store Subscription (I had a feature store) $249.95 for Dec thru April

Picture Manager Subscription – $50.00

Insertion fees for average of 900 listings (store) $27.00

Final Value fees – 12% x 1375.20 = 165.02

PS discount – typically 15% = 24.75

Ignoring fees I would have paid for auction & fixed insertion fees and NPBs

Total fees = $467.22

Total Difference In Fees Paid
$467.22
$56.00
$411.22

Now that is quite a difference!

For me, when I figured this year’s taxes, it was a no-brainer. It was time to close our eBay store and utilize a free Bonanzle booth for our products.

Our sales have been good on eBay, but it was the stated value items selling, not the store listings.

It is a business decision to sell on both sites, but to do the bulk of listings on Bonanzle where it’s free until sold.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The BrewsNews information blog about online sales, eBay, Amazon, Bonanzle and oh so much more!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Most Recent Comment

  • Calendar of Posts

    April 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Topics

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

