eBay Conducts Online Interactive Survey the Same Way as They Manage the eBay Marketplace

Posted on April 16, 2009. Filed under: eBay | Tags: , , |

A few weeks ago I received an email asking me to participate in an eBay online interactive survey.  The email let me know that Invoke Solutions was conducting the survey on behalf of eBay who was interested in my opinions (I confirmed this email was legitimate before I proceeded). 

I was informed in the email that my participation would net me $25 but first I would have to answer a preliminary questionnaire so that Invoke Solutions could determine if I fit the profile of the sellers they wanted.  If the preliminary survey results indicated that I met their requirement then I would be asked to participate in the eBay Online Interactive Survey on the evening of April 14th.

I have participated in (and have conducted) a number of surveys, both online and in person, for a great many companies.  I often times participate in eBay online surveys and was willing to provide input during an interactive online survey with or without compensation.  So, I immediately pulled up the initial survey to respond.  The first thing I noticed was a statement telling me that I could earn $35 (not the original amount of $25 as stated in the email) if I was picked to participate in the online interactive survey and I completed it.  I went on to answer all of the questions asked and I expected at the end of the survey that I would be told whether I was wanted for the future interactive survey.  That is the norm.  However, no such information was given to me telling me whether I qualified or did not qualify.  I then waited a few days for an email notifying me but nothing ever was sent to me.  A few more days passed and I forgot about the survey, assuming that I did not meet the profile. 

Then, on April 14th about nine hours before the time the interactive survey was to begin, I received not one but SIX emails informing me of the following: “Thank you for agreeing to participate in our online interactive survey. This survey will be hosted by our research partner for this project, Invoke Solutions… Please remember that by logging in early or on time and completing the entire survey, you will be entitled to a $25 incentive.”  Notice that the amount now promised was the original $25 not the $35 mentionned in the preliminary survey. 

About two hours later I received another email, different from the previous six emails.  That email stated: “This is a quick reminder of your interactive survey scheduled for later today.”

Unfortunately, I had already made plans for the evening of April 14th that I could not change.  If I had been notified more than 9 hours in advance, I would not have committed to something else and I would have been able to participate in the survey.    It’s probably just as well that I didn’t participate — eBay certainly would not want to hear what I had to say.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “eBay Conducts Online Interactive Survey the Same Way as They Manage the eBay Marketplace”

RSS Feed for TheBrewsNews Comments RSS Feed

I did everything like you, and then also became unavailable at 8:30 EST Tuesday evening. I would not have minded otherwise, but we had to supply so many demographic datapoints in the pre-interview that I feel cheated. Likewise, I received an email blast (6?) leading up with threats of getting in early or I wouldn’t have a reservation slot at the designated time. Ebay here’s your participation tip: your outsourced survey company sucks.

I just wonder why do you bother with surveys like that? They are only used when they already know the answer to the questions they will ask.

Martin, sometimes that is EXACTLY why I respond to the eBay surveys – so that I can gain some insight into what eBay is going to do next with their marketplace.

“leading up with threats of getting in early or I wouldn’t have a reservation slot at the designated time.”

Everything eBay does is with a threatening undertone. They simply have no concept of customer relationships. After I closed my store in Feb I received an email informing me if I didn’t reopen my store than….. Not sorry you closed your store could you provide us feedback of what we could have done…. Nothing that I have received from any other business I have ever ended an account with.

eBay is ran by a bully and the attitude is pervasive in the whole of the marketplace from many reps, the help pages, the listing templates…..

[…] than a month ago I wrote a blog post titled eBay Conducts Online Interactive Survey the Same Way as They Manage the eBay Marketplace in which I described how eBay informed me that I was chosen for an online interactive survey that […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The BrewsNews information blog about online sales, eBay, Amazon, Bonanzle and oh so much more!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Most Recent Comment

  • Calendar of Posts

    April 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Topics

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

