New eBay AdCommerce Program Measures ROI Not Just Clicks

Posted on September 24, 2009. Filed under: eBay | Tags: , , , , |

 

A little over week ago, eBay UK hosted a free webinar about the eBay AdCommerce program.  That pre-recorded webinar can be viewed on the Adcommerce Blog by clicking HERE

 The agenda for that webinar:

agenda

 

Years ago, I tried eBay’s Ad program and I was not impressed.  I have yet to try the new eBay AdCommerce program.  However, some other sellers have told me that they believe they have had success with their AdCommerce campaigns.  Until now, there has been no way to really measure whether any AdCommerce campaigns have been successful.  To me, success is not defined as the number of clicks any ad campaign gets but rather whether any of those clicks results in a bid or purchase.  And if it can’t be proven to me that I’m getting something for my money then I’m not interested. 

I recently learned something, though, which caused me to become interested in the eBay AdCommerce program.  The AdCommerce program is currently testing ROI measurements.  The following information is from eBay:

ROI beta test: Some users will be granted access to a beta test for Return on Investment (ROI) metrics on the Reporting tab. There are four ROI measurements that will be available to help you determine the efficiency of your advertising campaigns: # of Bids, Items Sold, Sales Amount, and Sales/Cost. These measurements track purchases and bids on eBay directly resulting from a click on one of your ads. If you’re in the test pool, you’ll receive a message and further information in the coming days when you sign in to your account.

When I inquired, I was told that most AdCommerce users should have full access to this ROI functionality next month.  Also, some eBay users are being offered a $50 free trial offer to test out this new AdCommerce program. 

As an ecommerce merchant, I am willing to pay when someone brings me a customer whether it is Google, eBay, or Amazon.  If the new eBay AdCommerce program can show me that I am getting a good ROI on my ad campaigns then I am more than willing to participate in the AdCommerce program.  When I have more information about how the new AdCommerce program specifically works out for me, I’ll be sure to share my test results. 

If you are on Twitter and want  to follow eBay AdCommerce, you can do so by clicking HERE

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “New eBay AdCommerce Program Measures ROI Not Just Clicks”

RSS Feed for TheBrewsNews Comments RSS Feed

Ebay just started a 15 day sale of 33% off on Auction style listings. Dinesh Lathi announced it on the Announcements Board:

“Starting on Saturday, September 26, 2009, sellers who list Auction-style item(s), and have a 12 month Detailed Seller Rating of 4.5 or higher on all criteria, will receive 33% off the standard Insertion Fee per item listed. New sellers who don’t yet have DSR ratings are also eligible. DSR rating criteria for this promotion will be based on the previous 12 months.”

The first I heard of it was when I created some new listings. I didn’t receive any message about it. Dear Brews, are you able to explain to me if eBay loves auctions or hates auctions? They seem to change their minds every other day. Frankly, I’ve lost the clue by now.

Nadine, I don’t think eBay knows what it loves or hates so far be it from me to fathom a guess.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The BrewsNews information blog about online sales, eBay, Amazon, Bonanzle and oh so much more!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Most Recent Comment

  • Calendar of Posts

    September 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Topics

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

