eBay Wants Me to Know They Think I’m an ASS

Posted on October 3, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

 Picture courtesy of Henrietta from RedInkDiary

 

The implementation of eBay Seller Release 2 (SR2) is rolling out and included in the release are some surprises that eBay didn’t inform anyone about including their own eBay Seller Advocate.  Just a few weeks ago, the eBay Seller Advocate answered seller’s questions about the Top Rated Seller (TRS) program and informed eBay members that eBay had no plans at this time to use the TRS desgination as a filter in the search function.  However, just two weeks later on September 30th I reported that eBay Buyers Can Now Narrow Their Search to Top Rated Sellers Only .  eBay is using the wording ““Buy from eBay Top-Rated sellers and get excellent service and fast shipping” to inform buyers that only Top Rated Sellers (TRS) are trustworthy and provide excellent customer service.

I think the rest of us unworthy sellers with 99.9% and 100% eBay seller feedback scores get the picture.  eBay is trying to send us a message by taking our fees and then diverting buyers to the Top Rated Sellers (TRS) just in time for the holiday season.  Okay, we got it.  Really.  We truly got it. 

But just in case there is any doubt left about how eBay feels about their NON-Top-Rated-Sellers…. on October 1st eBay began calling some of us sellers an ASS.  Yep, that’s right.  In my Dashboard, eBay has labelled me an ASS.     

 

 

 ASS

 

My eBay Dashboard now, as of October 1st, says that I am not a Top Rated Seller (TRS) but rather I am an Above Standard Seller (ASS). 

So, while the Top Rated Sellers (TRS) receive “juicy eBay carrots” the rest of us Above Standard Sellers (ASS) receive the “eBay stick”.  I guess it’s a fitting label for what I’m getting – whacked with the eBay stick on the ASS because I won’t offer free shipping to possibly get better anonymous DSR ratings.  

When it comes to eBay, the truth is always so darn entertaining.  Who thinks up all these comical “innovative” things anyway?  And, as something to look forward to, we’re told to expect three new eBay Seller Releases in 2010.  Oh joy.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

7 Responses to “eBay Wants Me to Know They Think I’m an ASS”

RSS Feed for TheBrewsNews Comments RSS Feed

[…] eBay Wants Me to Know They Think I’m an ASS « TheBrewsNews thebrewsnews.com/2009/10/03/ebay-wants-me-to-know-they-think-im-an-ass – view page – cached Posted on October 3, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: Above Standard Seller, ebay carrots and sticks, eBay Seller Release, eBay top rated seller — From the page […]

I got the Top Rated Seller and have only sold 6 items since February, I still have my Power Seller Icon as well. I wonder if they miss my monthly stiffen I used to send them. Oh Well searching for Greener less Costly Pastures now.

Wow! Never have I been so amused and angry at the same time.

I don’t list much on eBay anymore due to selling on live video auction platforms that are just starting to catch on, so I’m lucky in that sense.

You have to kind of wonder, how much more the people that have stuck it out will take.

Great article, a pleasure to read!

Thanks for the laugh this morning!

Thanks for the smile. for now I’m a TRS but i shall await my ASS designation and smile 🙂

The worst part of the whole thing is that ebay flat out lies to us.

They didn’t just leave this crucial part of their fall seller changes announcements out…..they have been DENYING it right up to this week.

A seller asked Griff about this topic only a week or so ago (will be ebay using some sort of sort-by function for the listings of top-rated sellers)…Griff’s reply was “not at this time”

99% of my resources for xmas sales are going to amazon this year…if nothing else, I’m craving consistency from a selling platform, after endless ebay games…

I have to admit, you made my day with that one.

With all due respect to eBay, but I think they’ve considered me an ASS all along. The odds are stacked against a Canadian seller becoming a TRS – so that was the best I could aspire to anyways.

I’m going to work HARD to lose that designation . 🙂

(ummm, what’s lower than an ASS on ebay? —

I just might try becoming a BSS next round 🙂
jeers

oops, mistypo — “cheers”.
🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The BrewsNews information blog about online sales, eBay, Amazon, Bonanzle and oh so much more!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

  • Archives

  • Top Posts

  • Most Recent Comment

  • Calendar of Posts

    October 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Topics

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

